From roots-in@bl-12.rootsweb.com  Sun Aug 24 13:56:57 1997
Received: from bl-4.rootsweb.com (rootsweb.com [204.212.38.29])
	by bl-30.rootsweb.com (8.8.5/8.8.5) with SMTP id NAA21680;
	Sun, 24 Aug 1997 13:56:57 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from bl-12.rootsweb.com (bl-12.rootsweb.com [204.212.38.28]) by bl-4.rootsweb.com (8.6.12/8.6.9) with ESMTP id NAA01025 for <roots-approved@rootsweb.com>; Sun, 24 Aug 1997 13:57:08 -0700
Received: (from roots-in@localhost) by bl-12.rootsweb.com (8.7.6/8.7.3) id NAA29829 for roots-approved@rootsweb.com; Sun, 24 Aug 1997 13:57:19 -0700
Received: from bl-30.rootsweb.com (bl-14.rootsweb.com [207.113.245.30]) by bl-4.rootsweb.com (8.6.12/8.6.9) with ESMTP id NAA30189 for <roots-in@rootsweb.com>; Sun, 24 Aug 1997 13:06:17 -0700
Received: (from slist@localhost)
	by bl-30.rootsweb.com (8.8.5/8.8.5) id NAA09908
	for roots-in@rootsweb.com; Sun, 24 Aug 1997 13:06:06 -0700 (PDT)
X-Envelope-From: kilohana@hula.net  Sun Aug 24 13:06:04 1997
Received: from bl-4.rootsweb.com (rootsweb.com [204.212.38.29])
	by bl-30.rootsweb.com (8.8.5/8.8.5) with SMTP id NAA09899
	for <ROOTS-L@bl-30.rootsweb.com>; Sun, 24 Aug 1997 13:06:04 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from spartacus.hula.net (root@spartacus.hula.net [206.127.232.5]) by bl-4.rootsweb.com (8.6.12/8.6.9) with ESMTP id NAA30185 for <ROOTS-L@rootsweb.com>; Sun, 24 Aug 1997 13:06:13 -0700
Received: from ekahi40.hula.net (elua25.hula.net [206.127.234.93])
          by spartacus.hula.net (8.8.6/8.8.4) with SMTP
	  id KAA16044 for <ROOTS-L@rootsweb.com>; Sun, 24 Aug 1997 10:05:59 -1000 (HST)
Date: Sun, 24 Aug 1997 10:05:59 -1000 (HST)
Message-Id: <199708242005.KAA16044@spartacus.hula.net>
X-Sender: kilohana@hula.net
X-Mailer: Windows Eudora Light Version 1.5.2
Mime-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
To: ROOTS-L@rootsweb.com
From: Bobbi K <kilohana@hula.net>
Subject: Re: USGenWeb 'scam'????
Sender: roots-in@rootsweb.com

~~~~ALOHA! ROOTERS~~~~~~

I contacted USGenWeb last night regarding the many inquiries about the
'surname files' in question.  Although the person in question selling these
files is well within his rights to do so, 'let the buyer beware' is still a
rule of thumb. "If it's too good to be true, etc etc.........Remember, the
'NET' is still young and there are people out there that will get a buck any
way they can!  

.

Below is a note received from Megan at USGenWeb.  I am forwarding it to you
(with her permission) so that this 'thing' doesn't become a 'neverending
thread' and we can all get back to genealogy!  


******Beginning of forwarded message***********

>Date: Sun, 24 Aug 1997 01:19:12 -0500
>From: pigoletto <piglet@usroots.com>
>Organization: Hah!
>To: Bobbi K <kilohana@hula.net>
>Subject: Re: USGenWeb 'scam'????
>References: <199708240531.TAA32553@spartacus.hula.net>
>
>Basically, what John does is what Bill Yates and a number of other
>people do (ever read those two page surname ads in Everton's?)
>
>Selling research notes, family group sheets etc on a surname.  Might be
>your line, might not.  No guarantees.
>
>I gather John also does sell some queries, which I'm not much impressed
>with.  However, they have always been taken from the aol message boards
>(which after all, non-aol folks have no other way to see), and have
>never been from USGW.  John assures me that they still are not.
>
>He also states that the $3 is the exact cost of the priority mail, no
>profit, and that the lady doing the screaming hasn't paid for the
>materials anyway, so he's spent the postage and gotten nothing but
>smears in return.
>
>Hardly a way to go about it if you were really trying to scam folks, I'd
>think.<G>
>
>megan
>
>-- 
>piglet@usroots.com
>Peripatetic Pseudo Porcine
>Purveyor of Peculiar Phraseology
>
*****End of forwarded message**********
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
ALWAYS happy to share in the spirit of  genealogy!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Many Thanks and 'A'hui hou kakou,
BobbiK
kilohana@hula.net
kilohana@bigfoot.com


